Magic Within Us (Chakras)

Feb 15th 2014

All things will Align. Love is most Devine.

 What are Chakras?

  Chakras are different points in your body where concentrated energy flows just like magic. Working with this energy in a positive way has been linked to increased lifespan; physical, mental, and emotional health; and overall personal well-being.

There are many different views as to location, number, and purpose of each chakra, so with that being said I'm going to focus on the Western view of chakras. The idea is that there are 7 primary chakras running from the base of the spine to the top of the head.

Muladhara-The Root Chakra

The Sanskrit meaning of Muladhara means "root support".The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine, and is symbolized by the color red. This chakra governs the physical, and is the incarnate of the sensual. A great affirmation for this chakra is, "I AM GROUNDED AND PRESENT IN MY LIFE."

Svadhishtana- The Sacral Chakra

In Sanskrit the word Svadhishtana means "sweetness".The Sacral Chakra is located in the lower abdomen and is associated with the color orange. This chakra is that of pleasure, desire, sexuality and procreation. "I FEEL PLEASURE TO MY CORE AND ALLOW MYSELF TO GAIN VITAL LIFE FORCE FROM IT!" is a great affirmation for this chakra.

Manipura- Solar Plexus Chakra

In Sanskrit the word Mainpura means the "lustrous gem". The Solar Plexus is located above your belly button and below your xiphoid process. The color associated with this chakra is yellow. This chakra governs your personal power, confidence, assertiveness and will. A great affirmation for this chakra is, " I AM CONFIDENT AND I STAND IN MY POWER!

Anahata- Heart Chakra

The Sanskrit meaning of the word Anahata is "unstruck" meaning a sound that is made without any two things striking. This chakra is located in the center of the chest. The color associated with this chakra is green. Anahata rules love, breath, balance, relationships and unity. A heart affirmation would be, "I OPEN MY HEART TO THE IMMENSE LOVE IN MY LIFE."

Vishuddha- Throat Chakra

The meaning of Vishuddha is "purification'' and it is located in the throat. Blue is the color associated with this chakra. The major association with this chakra is speech, communication and expression. One great affirmation for this chakra would be, "I EXPRESS MYSELF WITH EASE AND GRACE."

Ajna- Third Eye Chakra

The meaning of the word Ajna is "command". The chakra is located between the brows above the eyes and near the top of the spine. Blue is the color associated with this chakra. This chakra governs the spiritual awakening. The meaning of the word Ajna means both self command, achieved by over coming the illusion of duality, and also the deep surrendering to the command or guidance of your inner guru. The guru is your selfless spiritual teacher. A great affirmation would be, "MY INTUITION GUIDES ME FOR MY HIGHEST GOOD."

Sahasrara- The Crown Chakra

Sahasrara means, "thousand petaled," in reference to the infinite petals visualized this chakra in the traditional system. The Crown is located of course on the top of your head and the color associated with it is usually purple or white. At it's highest expression the crown chakra represents enlightenment, pure awareness, and an ability to escape from the endless cycles of birth and death from which most suffer. An affirmation for this chakra would be,"I EASILY CONNECT WITH UNIVERSAL LIFE FORCE."

Connect with the magic within and use that power for its highest good. 

It will not only benefit you, but it will also benefit everyone else around you. 

We are all one connected like petals on a flower or leaves on a tree. 

Make sure you are being who you're meant to be. 

Express yourself and be free.